News

Current News

GardenShare marks 20 years of service to the community (Thu, 2016-01-21) Reflections on the beginning of GardenShare on our 20th anniversary

The Roots of GardenShare
Phil Harnden
January 18, 2016

GardenShare traces its roots to the North Country Garden School, which I founded in 1994 as a way for people (including novices like me) to learn skills for gardening in northern New York State. Led by veteran gardeners, the Garden School taught an ecologically responsible style of gardening appropriate for our cold climate. Each year several hundred gardeners attended our workshops, tours, films, and lectures.

2016 Local Food Guide (Mon, 2016-01-11) Time to get your listings in for the 2016 Local Food Guide

News Archive

Canton Middle School students meet with Assemblywoman Addie Russell (Fri, 2015-12-18) Students working on bringing local food into school cafeteria
Give the gift of healthy food (Wed, 2015-12-09) Gift tokens for area farmers markets
GardenShare is hiring! (Tue, 2015-12-08) Part-time outreach coordinator to promote SNAP usage at Farmers Markets
Announcing the 2015 Growing Community Award (Thu, 2015-12-03) GardenShare honors Bob Washo and Flip Filippi
Holiday giving - on "Giving Tuesday" and all month long (Tue, 2015-12-01) "Giving Tuesday" and throughout December
GardenShare announces new sponsorship plan for 2016 (Mon, 2015-11-30) Marking "Giving Tuesday" 2015, GardenShare offers donors special opportunities for the coming year
Internships at GardenShare (Mon, 2015-11-23) Spring semester interns wanted
Volunteer with GardenShare (Thu, 2015-11-12)
GardenShare Board officers elected (Thu, 2015-11-12) Board officers for 2016
Hunger 101 (Thu, 2015-11-12) GardenShare offers a new education program